h1

Looking back at 2015 with Scott Leland

November 19, 2015

2015 Northstar Mountain Bike Season recap

NS MTB Team-09.12.15_-14

The 2015 mountain bike season on the Northstar team was a blast. After a season off the bike due to various injuries my goals this year were rebuild my endurance, rep the giant/northstar brand and have fun racing with the team… and maybe climb up onto a podium or two. It was a winter tailor made for the early season racer with spring like temps and almost no snow from November through March. What is one to do but start racing in March when the mountain bike gods bike gods bestow gifts like that upon us!

Big Sandy

The Big sandy was a first time race for me. It’s a 38 mile xc race with about 6k of climbing. I had been training hard up to this point and had excellent legs. The course also had a nice technical dh which played to some of my strengths. The course was very fast and was a perfect fit to the fast rolling 29er wheels on the Anthem X. After a little over 3 hours of racing I crossed the line in first for the cat 1 race!

NS MTB Team-09.12.15_-35

SONOMAS

2 weeks after The Big Sandy I was lined up behind Levi Leipheimer at the brutal Sonomas XC race. This race offered up 36 miles and 7k of twisty, steep trail circumnavigating Lake Sonoma. I had a great race but unfortunately pulled a muscle in my low back with about 6 miles to go. I dropped from 3rd to 6th by the time I crossed the line and missed the podium by a hair. OUCH!

 Sea Otter Classic

The Sea Otter XC course was in its 2nd year on the new short course. We no longer had to flog ourselves on the 2 lap 38 mile race. I had another very good race and was happy to end up 2nd behind perennial winner Bob Letson .

That’s me in the green shirt!

 

IMG_1575

Scott 2nd Place Cross Country

Whiskey 50

The Whiskey 50 was a first time race for me and I will definitely go back. Epic rides puts on this race and it is definitely epic! It was 50 miles of awesome trail, good music and beer. I had a rather hard time during the race however. I bonked hard at mile 35 and dropped from 6th to 25th on the long skull valley climb. I started slamming calories and eventually got the engines going again. I clawed my way back to 11th out of 562 racers and made a mental note for my management of this race next year.

NS MTB Team-09.12.15_-22

The Tour of the White Mountains

The Tour of the White Mountains was another new race for me. This was the 20th running of the race held high in the mountains of northeastern Arizona. Good thing we live at altitude because this 51 mile XC race starts at 7100ft! The race went off without a hitch and I held on for 12th out of 140 in the open race. It is a miracle I finished. After the race I realized I had snapped the inner cage of my rear derailleur and also snapped my rear axle of my Mavic Crossmax SLR clean in half!

NS MTB Team-09.12.15_-19

I had a great time racing for the team this year. Next year I plan on doing the 4 xc races Epic Rides puts on, sonomas, big sandy, Ashland enduro, and hopefully the Tahoe 100. Offseason training will consist of skiing and lots of it!

Leave a Reply

