h1

True Grit-Nathan Clark ~ Sonora, CA

October 2, 2015

There’s an old say, “if you ain’t getting hurt, you ain’t tryin'”.  Tenacity, resilience, motivation, and stoke are what drive Nathan Clark.  Enduring a frustrating and painful early season injury, Nathan paid his dues and is coming back on fire.  A true dh ripper, Nathan took spent his summer getting strong and fit already planning out his 2016 race season.  Here’s his thoughts on this season…

Duckwall7

My 2015 Downhill season began and ended in Ashland, Oregon for the annual Spring Thaw. We arrived on Friday, May 15 after the five hour drive from Sonora, CA, and started shuttling after receiving race packets. Todd Renwick and I took several runs, and after debate on whether to call it a day or take one last lap, decided to take a final run—as luck would have it, I decimated my collarbone at the end of the Stage 1 track.IMG_0964

The following week consisted of scheduling and undergoing surgery at Memorial Medical Center, which was not how I had hoped or envisioned my 2015 season to go. I came away from the experience with a plate and six screws (and learned to never call your last run).

Duckwall5

Recovery time ended up being the entirety of the season, and I would not be cleared to ride aggressively again until September.

When I finally got back on my bike again, the season was coming to a close, but I was happy to be able to get some late season riding in at Northstar before closing weekend, and on the trails in and around Tuolumne County. Duckwall3

I am currently getting back up to speed and gaining an early start on training for a successful season of racing Junior Expert in 2016.

Duckwall4I would like to thank Northstar California, Giant Bicycles, Fox Head Racing, Honey Stinger, and All Out Racing along with its affiliates for supporting me through injury this year.

Leave a Reply

